… of New Years and New Beginings.

We hope you enjoy your stay
It’s good to have you with us,
Even if it’s just for the day.

Enterlude,
The Killers.

I’m still in two minds about this whole “online presence” thing. I mean, I understand why people do do it – or, at least I think I do. My uncertainty is more that, I’m not still sure it’s the thing for me. And you may well glance to the right and see links to my twitter, last.fm, flickr and .mac account and scoff, and well … yeah, ok that’s fair.

All told, this will be the fourth attempt at an online journal for me (I am – for now – rejecting the use of the ‘b’ word), and I do honestly hope it sticks. But, I also know me, my notoriously short attention span, and propensity for not finishing the things I start. Sometimes I think I’m more anamored with the idea of creating and starting a journal, more than I am with updating it.

Which – and I don’t mean to jump on the Dr. Phil train too early in this process – I know stems back to my childhood. As a kid I would collect exercise and notebooks with the intent of filling them with epic tales of I-don’t-remember-what. Amazing intentions, only I’d usually get distracted not long after starting and, consequently, I would end up with piles of books with one or two pages filled, then nothing. Occaisionally I’d tear the used pages out and try to start the book again, but I’d never get much further than the last attempt.

Jump to 22-ish years later and not much has changed. I’ve spent more time here trying to refine my stylesheet than I have writing anything of worth. Building books cover first – much like some kind of Ed Wood picture. Only, I’ve not go anything as exciting as a monster preying on young teens as my inspiration.

At least, I don’t yet.

So, in a effort to get things moving, I’ve settled on an “it’ll do” design, and figured I’d try and get some words in here for now. Something I’ve not done in a very, very long time. Here’s hoping that these won’t be the pages I’m tearing out in two weeks when I decide it’s time to start again.

Author: Mark Ampersand

Budding writer, connoisseur of fine popular culture and Batman fan.

1 thought on “… of New Years and New Beginings.”

Leave a Reply

