now watching: The Prisoner

I am slowly coming to the sad realisation that there will come a time in the not too distant future when Lost will no longer be on television. In these dire times, especially now that it has come to light that all of Lost’s mysteries may not be explained, I find myself wondering how I will start to fill the void left my its departure?

While full blown panic has not yet set in, I can imagine it won’t be too far off. In an effort to console myself with the fact that I may not have all of my questions answered – like, how did all that Dharma mayonnaise survive in a non-refrigerated space [1]? – I’ve started watching television shows that have been referenced at one time as inspiration for Lost.

To begin, the 1960s serial, The Prisoner, starting Patrick McGoohan. So far, with only one episode in, it seems to have everything a television show needs: Numbers! People being dead but not really! Lots of questions without answers! It even has a smoke monster!

I wonder if people used to tweet about it?

Also, Rumpole is in it. And Rumpole is awesome. One episode in, and already I’m hooked. I can’t wait to see where its all going.

Four strange white balloon creatures (or Balloony, as I have named him) out of five.

——-
[1] After some research, it has come to my attention that mayonnaise only needs to be refrigerated once opened. Assuming the jars Hurley found in the hatch were unopened, they would’ve been safe to eat. You win this round, Lost writers!

Author: Mark Ampersand

Budding writer, connoisseur of fine popular culture and Batman fan.

Leave a Reply

